Travel During a Pandemic

The first rule of traveling during a pandemic: Don’t.

However, if you find that you must, know that you can do so safely if you’re careful.

My daughter and I drove across the country in August, using gloves and masks at gas stations, spraying ourselves down with sanitizer whenever possible. We stayed at campgrounds and avoided going indoors unless it was necessary. We didn’t hug others unless we were wearing a mask. We traversed thousands of miles without contracting the virus because we were aware and took it seriously.

Still, we were able to enjoy the beauty of the country.

Then, when I needed to board a plane four weeks ago, I read up on what others had done. While I’m someone who gets to the airport an hour early, spending the least amount of time around a group of travelers seemed essential.

I arrived at the airport when the plane was boarding, with only one carry-on. I’m privilege enough to be TSA prechecked, so security was quick and painless. Well, except for when they needed to check the cheddar cheese I brought back from Vermont.

I drank little water, so I didn’t need to use the bathroom on the plane. I never took my nr95 mask off.

Even with a mask, the view was just as beautiful.

Also, thank you to the human who was kind enough to drive over four nr95 masks to me the day I flew out of Portland. Your kindness is what the world needs more of.

I researched which airlines did spaced seating. When I could select my seat, I paid extra for ones that would keep me as far away from the other passengers as possible. I changed my clothes when I arrived in Vermont and sprayed myself down with sanitizer just the same. I got COVID tested immediately and then did a follow-up test a week and half later.

While this pandemic may seem unimportant to those who feel they can beat it if they got the virus, know this isn’t about you. I have no doubts I would survive COVID if I got it, but if I contracted it, I could have passed it onto someone on the plane, or in Vermont, that might not survive it.

While having a conversation about possible contact with COVID can be uncomfortable, I can promise you it’s nothing compared to the talk that could come from someone dying because you chose not to be transparent.

Until a vaccine comes along, please wear a mask, and take the health of those around you seriously. We’re all in this together.

One thought on “Travel During a Pandemic”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started